Silentium Extra

Rheya / Solaris 2002

Rheya Kelvin: Don’t blow it.

Chris Kelvin: [laughs] You start.

Rheya Kelvin: I did.

Chris Kelvin: Really? All right, I’m going to resist the impulse to ask you about the doorknob.

Rheya Kelvin: Do you always resist your impulses?

Chris Kelvin: Not always.

Rheya Kelvin: Try poetry.

Chris Kelvin: And death shall have no dominion…

Rheya Kelvin: Mm, Thomas. It’s not a very happy poem, though.

Chris Kelvin: Well, you didn’t seem very happy when I saw you on the train.

Rheya Kelvin: [laughs] I wasn’t.

Chris Kelvin: And tonight?

Rheya Kelvin: It’s early.


“Earth. Even the word sounded strange to me now… unfamiliar. How long had I been gone? How long had I been back? Did it matter? I tried to find the rhythm of the world where I used to live. I followed the current. I was silent, attentive, I made a conscious effort to smile, nod, stand, and perform the millions of gestures that constitute life on earth. I studied these gestures until they became reflexes again…

But I was haunted by the idea that I remembered her wrong, and somehow I was wrong about everything.” -Solaris 2002

 

Comments are closed.